Thinking of buying SDRplay. Anything else I should consider?

Discussion in 'Software Defined Radio (SDR)' started by W4MJZ, Feb 5, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. W4MJZ

W4MJZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Thinking of buying an SDR play.

Looking for:
    *Good HF and all spectrum coverage. Mostly HF but want to play with GOES reception someday.

*Small size so I can travel with it and use it with my android phone.

Under $150.

This is what is having me leaning towards an SDRplay but wanted to see if anyone wanted to recommend a different receiver.

2. KK4NSF

KK4NSF Ham Member QRZ Page

nope. the SDRplay is a great littlepiece of equipment. I originally bought mine for a small EME experiment, but as soon as I started playing with it I found many, many more uses. I've got mine set up on a desktop, a laptop, and a Raspberry Pi3 / 3.5TFT... all three work great.

There IS one problem with it though: Because it can recieve on almost every possible band you can think of, you'll need about a dozen antennas to use it to it's fullest potential. For my little set-up, I've got a 70cm/2m antenna, a 70cm yagi, a 40-20m loop, a base loaded vertical for 80m, and a short (30ft) wire with a tuner for everything else. It's kind of addictive. You discover a new area of the spectrum you want to explore.... and have to build a special antenna to match it!

3. WR2E

WR2E Ham Member QRZ Page

I've been looking around too. The AirSpy also looks good but a bit above your price range.

KD2RHT likes this.
  4. K6CLS

K6CLS Ham Member QRZ Page

What SDR app runs on Android?

Plenty will work fine on a low or medium power laptop.

I was disappointed trying my RPI even with 10" TFT.

And yeah, the antenna thing

5. KM4JB

KM4JB XML Subscriber QRZ Page

make sure you buy an antenna adapter for whatever antenna you plan to use.

I use mine with an Android tablet, sort of. I have WinStick like this one