The New Guy...

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by W1WDW, Dec 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. W1WDW

W1WDW Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all,

I studied, took the exam, passed and got my CSCE, and finally my license was posted on the ULS. Still have yet to break my nervousness and make contact, but i wanted to say hello and introduce myself to everyone out there.

Hope to catch ya on the air!
    Jason

2. W4PG

W4PG Super Moderator Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

Welcome aboard! I assume you have some type of rig from your post. Listen a lot and get a feel for how to operate and then jump right in. Best way to learn is by doing!

..........Bob

3. K0RGR

K0RGR XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Don't be shy! Jump right in!

If you're not already aware of EchoLink, that's another resource for you. You can access repeaters around the world with it from your PC.

4. W1WDW

thanks all,

Yeah I currently have 2 rigs, {DELETED} and I kept them to operate 2-meters when I got my ticket.

Right now I have an Icom V-8 handheld and I have a V-8000 mounted in my truck, however I don't currently have my vehicle with me as I just moved and took the girlfriends car instead!

I have heard of EchoLink and am anxious to start using it however, my callsign is so new, it hasnt synced up with any website databases yet except for the FCC ULS, so i cant go through the validation process that Echolink requires. I dont even show up on the QRZ database yet.

Right now my communications are limited to handheld for the moment, i can't wait to get my V8000 back in service though.

Last edited: Dec 10, 2009
  5. AF6LJ

AF6LJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Welcome and welcome to Ham Radio :)

6. KJ4QXQ

KJ4QXQ Ham Member QRZ Page