The math says my setup is decent, but I think otherwise

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by N6AVI, May 2, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-2
  1. N6AVI

N6AVI Ham Member QRZ Page

As an engineering student, I was taught that the calculated numbers are usually 99% right. Which brings me to by current dilemma: my ham setup.

Having spent some time reading over the basics of certain theories and calculations in amateur radio, this is what I concluded:

I currently have an Icom IC-735 that outputs 100W. My setup is a homemade dipole for 10m (antenna image on my qrz profile), with exactly 136 ft of RG-58 coax. The feed runs over my roof from the front of the house (where the shack is) to get to the backyard where it's currently mounted. At the moment, the dipole is held by a (last I remember) 13.5 ft PVC mast, slightly below halfwave, though that will be rectified soon, but I'm going to discuss with what I have now regardless.

Looking at the calculations this is what I have concluded:
    Current Output with 136 ft of RG-58 [using dB = 10log(P2/P1)] = 47.1 W (Ugh)
    Elevation Angle at 13.5 ft [using theta = sin^-1(o.25/h)] = 24.3 degrees (I don't think this is terrible??)

I have read that using a different coax like RG-8X can help significantly, but running the numbers still gets me to values such as 57.9 W for output, which I feel is still somewhat degrading.

In regards to antenna height, even if should I get it to at least halfwave high, it will only get me to 30 degrees of takeoff elevation, not too far from 24.3.