Tarheel or Little Tarheel II

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio' started by WD0CCC, Oct 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-3
  1. WD0CCC

WD0CCC Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I am looking into a Tarheel antenna for mobile operating. I like the size of the Little Tarheel II and that I could also use on the back of my Honda Accord when I am not travelling in a Suburban. Is there a huge advantage to me going with a full-sized Tarheel or is the Little Tarheel sufficient? Should I put a mast below a Little Tarheel on my Suburban to get the whip above the roof? I have a homemade grounded receiver hitch mount on the Suburban ... maybe go with a magnetic mount with the Little Tarheel on the car with a ground strap. Rig is a Kenwood 480SAT.

2. KK4PLD

KK4PLD Ham Member QRZ Page

3. KJ5T

KJ5T Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I have no experience with the larger Tarheel antennas. I had the Tarheel II on my car for some time and really liked it. In fact my Sunday project today is going to be to install it on my Mazda CX-5, after a year of no antenna on the new car I decided to bite the bullet and do some drilling. You should ask yourself if you really do plan to use the antenna on the car, if not you could easily mount the bigger antenna on the Suburban and you would probably have a bit better experience if all is properly installed and proper grounding is put in place.

4. M0GVZ

M0GVZ Ham Member QRZ Page

I've a lot of experience of the Little Tarheel II. If you sacrifice 6m and replace the stock whip with a 72" one then it performs a whole lot better. It is excellent for 20-10m, OK on 40m but not that good on 80m. If 40/80 is the most important to you you want to look at a full sized Tarheel.