Take your exam online - It's a great experience

Discussion in 'Becoming a Ham - Q&A' started by KB9YOJ, Jan 5, 2022.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: L-Geochron
  1. KB9YOJ

KB9YOJ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

All-

I just upgraded to Extra. I studied for about a month with a "Fast Track" manual, which is chocked full of quizzes to keep you on track.

When it came time to do the exam, I looked at a conventional session and ultimately decided that I didn't want to wait. Online testing is great! I signed up for a test, and in 1 day I was registered and ready. I took my exam last night and this morning the FCC already filed the paperwork! Super fast! I'm impressed.

So, don't fear the online exams. I went with the Greater LA ARG VEC and they are awesome. The test software is really good.

Matt
    KB9YOJ

N6LSU, K4MID, W8VTN and 4 others like this.
  2. W7UUU

W7UUU Principal Moderator Lifetime Member 133 Administrator Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

That's great! Can you reply with a link so the folks wanting to do this will know?

Thanks!

Dave
    W7UUU

W8VTN, PU2OZT and K5EMG like this.
  3. KB9YOJ

Sure. Here is a link to all of the remote sessions from HamStudy.org : https://hamstudy.org/sessions/remote

Matt
    KB9YOJ

W7TCT and W7UUU like this.
  4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

That's not "online testing." It's "online sample tests" to help prepare for the actual test given by a VE.

W8VTN likes this.
  5. W7UUU

W7UUU Principal Moderator Lifetime Member 133 Administrator Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

Thanks Steve... that's what I thought, and it's a VERY important distinction for any new hams reading this. I was sorta scratching my head about some online VE service that I maybe had missed.

It's a great way to test your readiness, but does NOT substitute taking the actual FCC-approved test with a VE

Dave