SWR

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by W9QK, Feb 4, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
  1. W9QK

W9QK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I’m new to the hobby. I’m trying to figure out if I should get a rig expert or a NanoVna to check my antenna. I bought a Wolf River Coils antenna so I would definitely need something to check the SWR as I’m changing bands. I live in an apartment so thats the only vailable option for the limited space. The ceiling in the living room is about 18 feet height so it would be perfect to set up the whip. I know the nano vna has lost of future that I don’t know to use whet but as I develop in the hobby I heard I’ll get more out of the vna once I start getting more active ans learn more. I see there is nano van’s on Amazon for about 60 bucks. Is that the right price for them and any specific brand I need to be looking out for? It’s see there is a big difference in price compare to the rig expert like devices compare to the nano vna. I know nano vna does more stuff but it’s cheaper. I’m confused.
    Thanks in advance for any advice, 73

2. KL7AJ

KL7AJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi Ozzie...welcome aboard!
    As most of us old geezers believe, if you give a man a fish, you feed him for a day, if you teach a man to fish, you'll feed him for life. So, with that in mind, I'm going to not give you the easy answers, but give you some tantalizing leads that will allow you to figure out the answers for yourself. This way you never forget.
    As Confucius said:
    I hear and I forget
    I see and I remember
    I do and I understand

With that advice, I'm going to attach just a SMALL excerpt from my article "SWR Meters Make You Stupid", which I trust you will read in its entirety before too long. But to get you started, please ruminate on this excerpt carefully.
    73!
    Eric