ad: vanity

SWR reading question

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KF0FQL, Jun 8, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: abrind-2
  1. KF0FQL

KF0FQL Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi! Still learning newbie here!

I’ve got a question about SWR readings in antennas. I purchased this https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B075H8FDDR?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_mob_b_asin_image

to test my homemade ground plane antenna and my whip. So I used my Baofeng HT to test. When I tested on Medium or high power at the lower side of the 2m, the readings were 2.2- not good. But when I switched to Low I got 1.5.

I just bought a 25w mobile Anytone but I can’t test the antennas on this because the SWR meter I bought doesn’t have the right connectors.

So my question is if I tested the antennas at 2watts and use my mobile a 25w, will the antenna not be good for that frequency? Do antennas SWR readings vary based on the type of radio?

2. AA5MT

AA5MT Ham Member QRZ Page

Try to find a local ham who can compare it to his. A dummy load is even better if he has one. Always start with what you know and then solve for the unknowns.

In this case, do you know if either or both of the radios are correct. Is the cable good. Does your new meter read good at high and low power. Verify everything.

Tom

3. W9IQ

W9IQ Ham Member QRZ Page

Ideally, changing the transmit power should not change the SWR reading provided all other test conditions are the same. Some reasons that SWR readings may change with only a change in power level are inaccuracies of the SWR meter or heating/breakdown of antenna system components. I would suspect that the change in SWR readings in your case is due to meter inaccuracies.