SWL Corner (Discussion Forums)

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by TA7AOF, Dec 14, 2020.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: L-Geochron
  1. TA7AOF

TA7AOF Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi dear all;

I have been dealing with SDR and SWL since the day we moved into the new house. I live in turkey. There are quite a few young enthusiastic amateur radio operators here. But not all of them are as lucky as me. When I became a radio operator in 2012, HF transceiver and antenna were given to me free of charge. I have been an amateur radio operator for 8 years.

Let's get back to our topic. Conditions in Turkey, unfortunately, is a dream to get radio. 1 dollar = 8 Turkish liras. the minimum wage is $ 296. (2.324 TL). Many can not even get it. This is why young radio operators cannot speak in shortwave. Even SDR is 250-300 Turkish lira with customs fees.

I have a good project for these young people. Listening to short waves with SDR, doing all of them SWL and getting award, DXCC. SWL contest and more.

I've collected a few awards for now. SX2500S, SX40ARES, XMAS, YOTA etc ..
    I could not find any SWL corner in the forum. Can a corner be established where we can learn more about SWL, where SWL amateurs contribute and help? or is there such a place? Because I am not very experienced in SWL.

and finally. What are your suggestions for these young people? We are talking about about 400 certified young people.

73 de TA7AOF
    TA728042(SWL), 4L/TA7AOF, 1B/TA7AOF, Z66Y, 9A0YOTA

NQ8J, N1VAU, F8WBD and 1 other person like this.
  2. KK4NSF

KK4NSF Ham Member QRZ Page

I'd love to see an "SWL Corner" section added to the forum, and would post there regularly. SWL used to be a VERY common way to introduce ham radio..... and is a fascinating subject in it's own right.