super antenna mp-1

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KF7AJU, Mar 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. KF7AJU

KF7AJU Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to HF and am trying to tune an MP-1 for 10 meters. I am using RG8 with a 7ish coils wound for a simple choke. (only because it is there for a dipole I also built). My swr's are way high. Lowest I can get is 5:0. If I set up the antenna per the instructions for coil and whip settings it is not even close. I need to shorten it way down to reduce swr at all. I built new radials out of network cable at 8.75 ft for the 10 meter band and that did not help. I tried mounting it to a grill, a metal picknik table, a tripod raised up high, all have high swr on my analyzer. The only thing I have not tried is mounting it to a non conductive pole at height. I live in a very tight backyard patio home. Could the house be the problem?

Any ideas?

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

The house be the problem?

I'd say "probably not."

This is an extremely narrowband antenna with very critical tuning.

Since you seem to have an analyzer, try this:

Attach the analyzer where you can see its meters and stand next to the MP-1.

Loosely grab the MP-1 with your hand and run your hand up its length from the base to the tip and see how the meters react.

If no reaction, the antenna's not even connected.

Then, try grabbing the coax (loosely so you can slide your hand) just at the antenna and running your hand along the coax back towards the analyzer (away from the antenna). Does that affect the meter readings? What happens?