Studying for Tech ticket - getting there !

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KA2PTE, Jul 10, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: OK1UUad-1
ad: FBNews-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. KA2PTE

KA2PTE Ham Member QRZ Page

These practice exams are wonderful resources on this site. I like how it tracks your score progress too.

I am improving little by little :

t2014 2017-06-12 23:39:18 60.00%
    t2014 2017-06-27 02:06:56 65.71%
    t2014 2017-07-02 04:59:49 62.86%
    t2014 2017-07-03 00:13:38 60.00%
    t2014 2017-07-04 04:40:29 74.29%
    t2014 2017-07-05 02:13:14 74.29%
    t2014 2017-07-10 01:29:59 71.43%

I am gonna go with QRZ's recommendation that I get to 80-85% before I take my shot.

My weak points are some of the rules and regulations, and the types of transmissions on certain bands. Back when I was a novice there was not really much data type transmissions, at least not available for hams, it was mostly sophisticated military transmissions that you more or less just tuned past.

1 question I meant to ask was, can any ham give an exam ? Or does it have to be a ham who is a greater class than the ham seeking an upgrade?

2. AG6QR

AG6QR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

It's not just any ham. An exam must be given by a group of at least three accredited Volunteer Examiners (VEs), and none of them can be family members of any of the examinees. To become an accredited Volunteer Examiner, one must meet the standards of an agency called a Volunteer Examiner Coordinator (VEC) that has an agreement with the FCC. The ARRL is one of the largest VECs, but there are several others.