Starting a ham club at school.

Discussion in 'Youth Forum' started by KK4NWA, May 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. KK4NWA

KK4NWA Guest

I'm a teacher (KK4NWA) and just got into Ham radio a couple of months ago. I am starting a club in my school next school year and already have about 4 kids interested. I going to try to get them their techs ASAP and then start working on the Generals. A lot of these kids have science classes but no real applications for the science. The first thing I'm going to do in the club is have them bring in a transistor radio with AM and have them compete to see how far they can DX at night through logging stations. The next week I'm going to have them QSL a couple of DX stations.

IF ANY OF YOU HAVE A RECOMMENDATION OF ANY OTHER CHEAP WAYS TO GET THEM TO COMPETE/PLAY WITH RADIO before they get their tech let me know. We're also going to fool around with soldering.

2. KA9JLM

KA9JLM Ham Member QRZ Page

That is great.

What age are your students ?

Teach them good safety practice and wear eye protection while soldering.

Have Fun.

3. KD7VEA

KD7VEA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

A radio club sounds awesome. I wish my school would have done that when I was younger. Try some third party opperating, nothing will get them hooked like getting on the air. Maybe try some kits. Maybe have the whole group work on something like a softrock kit. Have someone with satalite experience come in and show how to work hundreds of miles away with a cheap handheld, and a homemade antenna

4. WA4OTD

WA4OTD Ham Member QRZ Page