ad: Amateuramateur-1

SO239 bulkheads in metal issue?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KG5CWF, Jun 19, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
  1. KG5CWF

KG5CWF Ham Member QRZ Page

I have never done this before but I am doubting myself a little. I am finishing my SKB go box for field day and was about to drill holes in a 2U blank for the rack and put 2 SO239 bulkheads to make easy connection points for the coax. One is HF and the other is for VHF/UHF. Could there be an issue with RF or SWR with the threads contacting the metal or am I over thinking it?

2. N1CZ

N1CZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Assuming that you are using metal "nuts" and the usual metal washers, the threads need not make contact.

3. K9ZMD

K9ZMD Subscriber QRZ Page

No, there is no harm. It's all at ground potential, no different from the coax jack mounted to the metal of your transceiver chassis. Go ahead and drill holes for the bulkhead connectors.

AF6LJ likes this.
  4. KB0MNM

KB0MNM Ham Member QRZ Page

I agree with the others. Your hardware for an SO-239 will need to be smaller than 6-32, use 4-40 if you go standard rather than metric ( or you may have some work ).