ad: hrd-2

So, where to listen on 6M?

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by KC3RN, Feb 6, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
  1. KC3RN

KC3RN Ham Member QRZ Page

Sorry, but I'm really new to 6 meters... I've been listening on various frequencies, but other than some very infrequent FM repeater activity, I've heard nothing... So my newbie question is where should I be listening to fo CW or SSB activity? I know CW is at the bottom of the band, but what are the popular watering holes? SSB also.

I'd like t get active on 6M, but there doesn't seem to be anyone to talk to around here.

2. KJ3N

KJ3N Ham Member QRZ Page

6m beacon list: http://www.keele.ac.uk/depts/por/50.htm

SSB calling frequency: 50.125 (domestic) and 50.110 (DX).

You will spend a lot of time listening to nothing. Since this cycle has been a major disappointment for F2 propagation, that leaves Sporadic E. You should also have minimum of a 3-element beam

Best times of the year for 6m are generally May through September.

3. KC3RN

Thanks Jim. Listening to 50.125 now. It's as good a place to "park" as any!! Using a dipole right now, but a small beam may be in my future....

4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

The beacons are below 50.080 and all CW. When you hear a beacon, look it up to see where it is -- although most do send their grid square along with callsign.

When you hear beacons more than a few hundred miles away, the band's open, at least in that direction.

Even a dipole will be quite directional on six meters, so if you don't rotate it, you're missing about half of what's out there to hear.

WB5YUZ likes this.
  5. KM3F

KM3F Ham Member QRZ Page

Activity depends on locality for local activity, propagation for long distance.
    The antenna should be a beam and as high as you can get it.
    A 3 element beam would be minimum worthwhile, in my opinion.