Silly noob questions

Discussion in 'Rig Control, Propagation, Cluster, & Other Softwar' started by K0PJS, Dec 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. K0PJS

K0PJS Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm fairly new to HF and very new to digital. I'm trying to make contacts on 40m using Mixw BPSK31. Everything seems to be working but no responses.

I'm using TS-430S, Versa Tuner II, inverted vee antenna (VSWR 1.2:1), SignaLink, and no CAT or other interfaces. I tune freq manually.

My question is when I'm looking at the waterfall and I see three red lines and I put the flag with the red and blue arrows on one, I see them calling CQ. The freq on the toolbar on the bottom will say 1.600KHz. I assume I'm adjust the RX and TX tone to get that one station.

I try to call back and get no response. I did this 50 times Saturday and Sunday and no QSO's. Is there any other tuning I need to do?

Thanks,

Pete
    KD0GIV

2. KL7AJ

KL7AJ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Greetings.

Are you absolutely sure you don't have RIT or XIT enabled on your transceiver?

Just because you see YOUR trace on the waterfall, doesn't mean that's where you're actually transmitting! Also be sure you're on the correct sideband....PSK31 shouldn't care (or at least it figgers it out on its own), but you want to be sure anyway. :)

Eric

3. K0PJS

Good idea but RIT is off, notch is off, and NB is off. I tried it with speech processor on and speech processor off too. ALC meter doesn't move either way so I'm thinking it shouldn't be distorted. Mic gain is set to 2.

I might have it on the wrong sideband but it is receiving very well. I'll double check that, thanks!

Pete

4. KL7AJ

KL7AJ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Next step is to set up a sked with a local station and see how you sound to him.

eric

5. K7JBQ

K7JBQ Moderator Volunteer Moderator QRZ Page

1) Make sure you're on upper sideband.