Shaker Heights passes cell phone ban

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio' started by KD8NGE, May 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
  1. KD8NGE

KD8NGE Ham Member QRZ Page

Shaker Heights, Ohio, just passed a cell phone ban.
    Here is the link to their FAQ that -- if I read it correctly -- specifies cell phones and text messaging devices.
    Ham radio would seem not to be covered by this legislation.
    (Caveat -- I am not a lawyer, nor is this free advice. Just spotted it tonight and wanted to pass it along. As Paul Harvey said, "For what it's worth.")
    Link:
    http://shakeronline.com/faq/category/72-police

2. W1GUH

W1GUH Ham Member QRZ Page

I was under the impression that bans on cell phone use while driving were close to universal these days. I stand corrected. Thanks.

How anyone can think that using a cell phone while driving is acceptable is beyond me or at least a testimonial to...something. I'm pretty sure that many, many of us have had the nasty experience of being totally ignored while someone else is deeply involved in a personal telephone call (finger raised) simply because the offending person doesn't know how to say, "Excuse me a minute" to whoever is being talked to. When in a telecon, some people are completely oblivious to anything else going on around them. Happens all the time on public transportation.

Hands free or not, a lot of people are incapable of safe, defensive driving while in a telephone conversation, and seem completely unaware of the danger they're creating for themselves and others.

OTOH, I've never been in a mobile QSO where it was that kind of distraction. It's common to hear, "I'm running into some traffic or other situation so I'll be QRT for a while." That has seemed to be SOP for mobile operation.

3. WJ4U

WJ4U Ham Member QRZ Page