Setup question on TH-D74A with DSTAR

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by W1ZRZ, Apr 22, 2020.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
  1. W1ZRZ

W1ZRZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hopefully I can make myself clear on this. I am new to DSTAR and digital all together. Been using nothing but cheap Chinese radios for local 2m only up until now. I purchased a TH-D74 and have been loving it! I do not find it to be complex or complicated. I have had no issue with programming it to do all my repeaters. I have APRS functioning and am on the map! Pretty cool stuff!
    THen I come to DSTAR. I believe I have it mostly correct. I am registered:

W1ZRZ has been approved on: REGIST (on 2020-04-15 19:21:26)
    W1ZRZ has terminals that are registered on: REGIST

I am wondering if the issue is strictly distance to the repeater or something else. I am in the Raleigh, NC area and I am about 9.3 miles away from the repeater. I have tried with the default antenna, I have a tactical antenna and I have a dipole in my attic. I can hit all the repeaters in that area for my local nets. When I scan stations, I do not hear anything. Every so often the scan will stop and I will see the light for Rx Meter will be 579, but I do not hear anything. I then press the monitor button and can hear loud and clear. I know that the monitor is to let you hear weak signals, but these do not sound weak at all and the meter goes to 9 on the signal.

I should also mention that I have this even with squelch off.

Would love any tips or thoughts. I am wondering if I am just going to have to lay out the cash for a hotspot.

W1ZRZ
    Kerry

Last edited: Apr 22, 2020
  2. W4EAE

W4EAE XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I do not have a D74, but what I do know about D-Star repeaters is that there are many fewer in existence than what show up on dstarinfo.com, repeaterbook, or rfinder.