Setting up Wiring

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by K0BWN, Jul 22, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: abrind-2
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. K0BWN

K0BWN Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to this..... I'm setting up my 220V circuit for an ACOM 1010. I'm sure it ways this somewhere, but I'm just not finding it: How many Amps is the ACOM 1010 going to draw? As in: As long as I'm running a new circuit, how many Amps should I prepare for?
    Many thanks,

2. WL7PM

WL7PM Ham Member QRZ Page

If you are stringing wire, you might as well use 12 gauge, and a 20 amp service breaker.
    The A1010 will likely peak at around 6 amps from a 240 volt line.

3. KL2WX

KL2WX Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

If you're going through the trouble of a 240v circuit you might as well do at least 30A in my opinion.

K4PP, KP4SX and N0TZU like this.
  4. KA8NCR

KA8NCR Ham Member QRZ Page

5. W4HWD

W4HWD Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I'm sure the info you seek can be found in the manual that came with the amplifier.

N4FZ likes this.
  6. N7VGO

N7VGO Ham Member QRZ Page

I agree with the 12 gauge wire and the 20 amp breaker. I gives you room to upgrade down the road. Be sure to use the proper outlet!

N4FZ likes this.
  7. K0BWN

K0BWN Ham Member QRZ Page

Many thanks to all. The 12 ga. 20Amp ought to do it. I appreciate the voices.

8. WA9SVD

WA9SVD Ham Member QRZ Page

No offense, but if you have to ask here about proper wiring, you probably should get a licensed electrician to do the work. While even line voltage @ a nominal 120 Volts +/- (in the U.S.) is nothing to play with, 240 Volts is even LESS forgiving. This is no place for a DIY "cut the corners" project.