sb200 no/low output on 10 meters

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by WX7G, Sep 29, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. WX7G

WX7G Ham Member QRZ Page

I recently purchased my SB200 & tuned it into a cantenna dummy load. 2400 volts hv & 500 watts on 80,40,20, & 15 w/50 watts drive. On 10 M only 30 watts out. I am NEW to linear amps so any thoughts????

2. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

What rig are you using to drive the amp and what does the rig (not the amp) see for SWR on 10 meters when the amp is operational? IOW, is it possible your rig is seeing high 10m SWR and folding back its output power (assuming it's a solid state rig with high SWR foldback) when operating the amp on 10m?

If your rig lacks a good built in SWR meter and you have access to an outboard SWR/watt meter you could temporarily place the outboard meter between your rig and the amp to make sure your rig isn't seeing high SWR looking into the active amp and is still delivering rated power into the amp's input.

If the input side of the amp is fine and your rig isn't folding back power looking into the active amp then you could have output tuning or tube problems leading to low power on 10m. I'd double check that there are no modifications to the output tank circuit tap or anything else unusual inside the finals cage that could be indicative of an 11 meter mod or other circuit changes. If all that checks out I'd suspect the tubes are getting old which will typically show up as 10m problems before it impacts the lower bands.

The other thing to check is the condition of the contacts on the open frame T/R relay. Those often get charred and oxidized with use and that could very easily impact 10 meters (either as input or output matching problems) before it became apparent on other bands.

W1TRY likes this.
  3. KG7FIU

KG7FIU Ham Member QRZ Page