SATERN torpedoed?

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by K3WGI, Apr 22, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
  1. W4HM

    W4HM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

    It seems like every institution in America is now in collapse.
     
  2. WZ7U

    WZ7U Ham Member QRZ Page

    Things change, not (obviously) for the better. What a mess.
     
  3. K3WGI

    K3WGI Ham Member QRZ Page

  4. W4NNF

    W4NNF XML Subscriber QRZ Page


    This is the bottom line on the story and is in accordance with what I've been told. We are living in an Age of Entitlement where people (some) people don't believe anyone can tell them what to do or make THEM follow any rules. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2021
    W0FS, WA9SVD, N0TZU and 1 other person like this.
  5. KT1F

    KT1F Ham Member QRZ Page

    I was confused. I thought the Salvation Army was changing their name to Strategic Auxiliary.
     
  6. N0TZU

    N0TZU Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

    Wow. Just wow. Even applying for a trademark on the name.
     
  7. KA0HCP

    KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

    When I was doing ground search and rescue, one of the questions we openly asked when disagreements flared was "How is this helping the victim?".

    We called this principle "Victim Focus".

    -How does starting a competing net serve those in need?
    -Is this conflict about improving service or about personal control/ego?

    Sad.
     
    WA9SVD, AB8JH, N0TZU and 1 other person like this.
  8. WX0NET

    WX0NET Ham Member QRZ Page

    You can apply for a trademark on anything, however, if it will cause confusion and misrepresentation, they will likely deny the request. It would be like opening a Wallmarts store and trying to get a trademark...
     
  9. WA9SVD

    WA9SVD Ham Member QRZ Page

    Would "Wally World" be sufficiently different?:confused::p
     
  10. N1FM

    N1FM Ham Member QRZ Page

    I heard it was a situation where the new SATERN wanted to distance themselves from the old SATERN due to philosophical differences in emcomm.

    “The new SATERN organization (Strategic Auxiliary Team Emergency Readiness Net) is not associated with The Salvation Army,” SATERN National Committee Chair Michele Heaver told ARRL. “At this time, SATERN (Salvation Army Team Emergency Radio Network) is no longer associated with Lee Glassman and does not support his new efforts with the Strategic Auxiliary Team Emergency Readiness Net. This is a breakaway organization.”

    "SATERN - Strategic Auxiliary Team Emergency Readiness Net main@SATERN20.groups.io

    WE PROVIDE BACKUP SUPPORT IN COMMUNICATIONS DURING DISASTERS FOR THOSE IN NEED
    Strategic Auxiliary Team Emergency Readiness Net. (SATERN) Net conducted daily, Mon-Fri, starting early checkins at 15:00UTC (10am EST, 9am CST, 8am Mountain, 7am PST). Regular check in and comment round starts at 16:00UTC (11am EST, 10am CST,9am Mountain, 8am PST). All radio amateurs are welcome to join the net, no need to be a member of any organization.. Net is held on 14.265MHz with alternate frequency of 14.312 if necessary due to QRM or Frequency Occupation. This Net is NOT affiliated with ANY Organization, although many of us are members of ARRL, ARES, Red Cross, and many other Volunteer Radio Groups."

    Net Manager Lee Glassman, WA5LEE from Tomball Texas (Houston Area)
    Co-Net Manager Ned Griffin, KL7QK from Shaw Island, Washington
    Net Administrator/Statistician Kirc Breden, N5XJB from Houston Texas"

    https://satern20.groups.io/g/main

    They wanted to stand apart, like Radio Relay International stands apart from ARRL. Lots of changes in the emcomm world since Chris Imlay's departure, Dick Norton's censure, Joe Ames dismissal (which lead to the formation of Radio Relay International,) hiring a new emcomm board, and a new Director, things like that. The new SATERN follows similar patterns.

    https://radio-relay.org/contact/public-relations/
    https://www.qcwa.org/w3jy-31722.htm
    https://www.kb6nu.com/heck-arrl-board-thinking/
    https://www.kb6nu.com/heck-arrl-board-thinking-wait-theres/
     
    W0PV likes this.

Share This Page

ad: AlphaRF-1