Salutations all!

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KK6WHY, Dec 31, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
  1. KK6WHY

KK6WHY Ham Member QRZ Page

I figured being new and all, I'd say hello.

I'm 34, but I've been involved in electronics since I was a kid. I've been restoring antique radios to help make ends meet since I was in high-school. I've spent the last 16 years volunteering at a railroad museum as a locomotive mechanic, and for the last nearly 7 years, I was an analog meter repair/calibration technician for a Simpson authorized service center, until I was recently laid off. I specialized in Simpson 260's. I've worked on hundreds of them of every series, going back to the 1940's, and I've repaired more Hickok tube tester meters than I can count. Granted, I was probably due for a career change anyway. Don't get me wrong, I loved my job, but I was just not making anywhere close to a living wage. Right now, I'm trying to find new employment in the railroads. I hope in the next few years, I can make enough money to maybe afford a modest apartment.

Actually, I'm not entirely new. I got my license back in 2015 as an instant General, but due in most part to extreme financial hardship (which being recently laid-off isn't helping at all), I've never used any of it's privileges. I did however get a nice set of license plates with my call on them (even though my truck has now been parked for the last 2 years with a blown engine).

But I look forward to getting more involved soon, as time and finances allow.

Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
  2. K7MEM

K7MEM Ham Member QRZ Page