RV Antennas

Discussion in 'RV Operating and Camping' started by KE5IZ, Apr 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. KE5IZ

KE5IZ Ham Member QRZ Page

This perhaps is a mute point since I am new to the RV world. I have a 30' Class C. I have mounted a Hustler mobile antenna & a VHF/UHF both of which do perform well but the Hustler is definitely equal to a wire of sorts.

My answer to the long-stay hamming is the Ultimax 100 which is a 42' end fed wire with a load match at the connection point. I use the TS50S, an MFJ-4230MV Switching PS, and, if my memory is correct, an LDG antenna tuner that sits upon the TS50. The antenna works on every band that the radio will transmit. From a West Tennessee RV park I have been able to work Qatar, Moracco, etc. with the antenna mounted about 15' from the ground. It is really worth the $65!

Gary
    KE5IZ

2. W5PFG

W5PFG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Gary,

I have had good luck with the PAR End-Fedz 10/20/40 antenna. It is limited to handling 25 watts but I've had great fun with it for phone, PSK31, and CW. I can deploy it very easily from my rig's ladder.
    Clayton
    W5PFG

3. KE5IZ

4. W5PFG

W5PFG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Very nice. The length should work well in many campsites.

5. KE5IZ