RTTY - FLDigi, flrig, RumlogNG IC-7300

Discussion in 'OS: Mac OS' started by KC9WIB, Oct 1, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-assoc
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. KC9WIB

KC9WIB XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I was using an iMac with FLDigi, flrig, IC-7300 for the CQ WW RTTY contest this weekend

I also supplemented by manually logging into RumLogNG

I'm very new to RTTY, essentially all my experience was over this weekend

my process was

1) S&P, I did not CQ at all
    2) I basically used 2 Macros, one to transmit my callsign in response to a CQ, the second to transmit the RST and my zone and state.
    from memory the macros were
    <TX> <MYCALL> <MYCALL> <RX>

then
    <TX> <CALL> <RST> 04 IL <MYCALL> <RX>

3) when I got the TU from the contact, I would click on the log-qso macro in fldigi ( setting the log to contest CQ WW RTTY)

( I would also manually enter the QSO into RumlogNG's contest log

I didn't figure out how to automatically populate the CQ side's state and zone in the fldigi log initially, later in the weekend I figured out how to manually enter it in the fldigi log window.

I also didn't want to CQ because I didn't think manually entering the zone/State was going to be fast enough to keep up with some of the traffic

does anyone have advice or examples of Macros they used for this purpose - i.e. to automatically grab the other side's zone ( state) and populate the log ( both on the S&P side and the CQ side)

Is this needed or is there another way thru qrz lookup for example for the logging program to automatically populate the zone/state when exporting a cabrillo style log for the contest ?