ad: elecraft

Replacement Laptop battery issue; tab voltages don't corespond to original pack

Discussion in 'Computers, Hardware, and Operating Systems' started by N2NJO, May 29, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-BCInc
ad: Subscribe
  1. N2NJO

N2NJO Ham Member QRZ Page

This is a somewhat unusual question since there are two parts.
    I have a OMBAR replacement 6 cell pack for a Toshiba. It has 9 pins (tabs). The Laptop O/S doesn't recognize the pack but, the battery LED blinks orange, it won't charge.

I took voltage readings off this pack as follows (from left to right w/ the pack facing up);
    1&2 common (negative)
    3&4 no voltage (control/monitor pins I assume)
    5,6,7,8 & 9 around 11vdc (but pins 6&7 were 1 volt less than the other three)

Now, with the original Toshiba pack charged to 50%;
    The ONLY pins that I had any reading from were 3&4 and that was around 3v.

Ok, would someone like to take a stab at this one?? :confused: I can only assume the CB is wired wrong or it's the wrong board for this series of Laptops. I have been in contact with OMBAR and they are going to send me a replacement, but I have my doubts.

2. KA9JLM

KA9JLM Ham Member QRZ Page

They may play tricks with a resistor value. I know their chargers do.

3. N2NJO

Resistor value where?

4. G4COE

G4COE Ham Member QRZ Page

All you told us....'I have a OMBAR replacement 6 cell pack for a Toshiba.'

It would help if we had the 'original' battery pack number of both units and the model of the Laptop.