Remote testing and Calculator use

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KM4GNZ, Jun 25, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KM4GNZ

KM4GNZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Greetings!

I recently upgraded to General using remote testing. The exam had easy calculations and the on-screen calculator worked well. Now I'm studying for the Extra exam and using a Texas Inst. calculator. It has all the necessary function (arctan, etc). Does any of the VE teams allows the use of a calculator during a remote exam? Can someone recommend a GUI calculator for Linix?

2. KL7AJ

KL7AJ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I believe you can bring a calculator but the proctors will clear the memory

3. KM4GNZ

Update. Just took my remote test through W5YI-VEC. Online calculator is encouraged but regular calculators are allowed. I used my old TI-36X Pro.

4. K3UJ

K3UJ Ham Member QRZ Page

N0TZU likes this.
  5. KU4X

KU4X Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

For future inquiries of the same nature:

Check with the VE team that will be administering the test you plan to attend prior to the test session. They will provide you all the info you need with regard to their test session rules, to include calculator use. Responses here could very well be incorrect.

"An ounce of prior planning prevents a pound of embarrassment."

Good luck to all future exam takers!

Regards,
    -Bruce

N0TZU likes this.
  6. K4AGO

K4AGO Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

"Linix" huh? Are you referring to Linux?

NO FCC HAM RADIO EXAM allows the use of a programmable calculator. All you need is a four-function calculator and the KNOWLEDGE to make the calculations. There also is no need for a scientific calculator. In all honesty, all you need is a pencil and some scrap paper.