Re-purpose old amplifier for 10m - Help/Suggestions Needed

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by KD9MDB, Sep 28, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KD9MDB

KD9MDB Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello all,

First time posting here, getting into ham radio and I really enjoy tinkering on RF equipment (mechanical eng. by trade, but enjoy the challenge of electronics as a hobby). So I have this old amplifier from the black market CB days, an "ABC Electronics 150" that I'm wondering if it's worth using on 10m for SSB use. I converted an old 23ch SSB CB to 10m using a DDS and an arduino in place of an original crystal oscillator. So to keep with the theme of re-purposing old CB equipment, I'm thinking this old clunker amp on my shelf might make a good learning project. End goal is for a 100-200 watt amplifier.

[​IMG]

It is a bit rough inside to say the least. At some point the main tube was changed to an Eimac 8875 crossflow cooled tube. I can't find any information on what this thing had originally, so no idea if this swap has been done well or not. The amplifier also has a 6KV6A tube to drive the 8875. That tube may be the original in that location.

I replaced the HV filtering capacitors and bleeder resistors so that I could at least find out the B+ level. It runs about 890 volts.

I cleaned it up quite a bit from this photo below, but if I decide to use it, the chassis needs to be stripped and painted. the plating on the top of the chassis is toast.
    [​IMG]

It has also seen some abuse at some point, the plate is a bit misshapen in the 6KV6A, so it's seen some overheating for sure. I worked through the circuits and checked the tubes for shorts, and not finding any, I went ahead and powered it up and used an old radio to see if it would come to life. It puts out over 100 watts after being tuned up (into dummy load of course). I have a larger wattmeter on my wish list for the near future....