Radio setup for SAR

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KM4SPU, Nov 9, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-assoc
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KM4SPU

KM4SPU Ham Member QRZ Page

KM4SPU here. I got my technician license a few years ago and haven't done much with it outside of hitting a few HAM repeaters. I am a search and rescue volunteer and most of my radio use is hand-held out in the woods on SAR missions; usually on simplex. I am very often closer to my truck than I am to base and often have a hard time reaching base with my 8W (Baofeng BF-F8HP) handheld. Since my handheld can monitor dual band, what I am thinking about doing is turning my truck into a repeater where I transmit on a different freq and the my mobile radio re-transmits my signal boosted on the SAR frequency.

I am have never dealt with mobile radios or antennae so I am a bit of a newb, so the solution needs to be simple (ie: buy and install, I'm not going to build anything). In addition to the amateur bands, the mobile radio would need to tx and rx between 151.1375-159.4725 and 453.2125-458.7125.

I am looking for recommendations of radio and antennae models and setup... and if my plan makes sense.

2. KM4DYX

KM4DYX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Welcome aboard,

I think your plan makes sense. I'd even consider going one better and looking into lightweight portable masts to mount your temporary repeater antenna up even higher. Sorry, no specific reccos, but I encourage you to keep at it.

Al

3. KL7KN

KL7KN Ham Member QRZ Page

Unless you put a duplexer in the truck, you are looking at cross band repeat. AFAIK, no can do per current FCC rules.

You might want to consider a hign gain antenna instead.

K4AGO and KC8VWM like this.
  4. KM4SPU

KM4SPU Ham Member QRZ Page