Question Number One...

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by KI6GEA, Nov 19, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KI6GEA

KI6GEA Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

How do I hook this thing up? I have an ACOM 1200S incoming, as well as an LDG 600 ProII tuner. I'm brand new at this and have a lot to learn obviously, and I really appreciate your help.

Currently my FTDX10 is being powered by a Samlex 1235. The very helpful dude at DX Engineering tried to give me the rundown of how these will all go in series but I didnt write it down and I'm not clear on it.

Does the tuner go between the amp and the radio, or between the amp and the antenna?

I also called LDG, and they tell me I don't need any interface cable between the antenna. But I should put the amp in "Standby mode" before hitting the tune button on the tuner.

Also, I recall DX engineering said I will still use the Samlex to power the FTDX10, and I will also need to use it to power the tuner, connecting both devices simultaneously to the power pole outputs on the Samlex. Does that sound right?

Thank you so much in advance for your help.

Chris
    KI6GEA

2. VK4TUX

VK4TUX Ham Member QRZ Page

The LDG 600 ProII tuner goes between AMP and antenna.
    Do not use the int ATU on the FTDX10 to match its RF connection to the amp input.
    The amp input should already be 50 ohms on each band for low input swr.
    Yes put amp in standby before LDG tune, and also set drive power for lowest power
    initially for first operate use at lowest amplified power after standby tune.
    When all looks good you can increase drive to obtain 600w or less at amp output.

N3RYB, AK5B, KI6GEA and 1 other person like this.
  3. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page