Question about "Group D" "Group C" and others

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KC5JDB, May 21, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
  1. KC5JDB

KC5JDB Ham Member QRZ Page

I got my Tech at 1994. On May 10th I took both General and Extra. I passed both. Today i receive the Fcc link for my new classification, Amateur Extra.
    My question is about the Group. When I was a Tech, I was in Group D. Now I am an Extra, shouldn't my group be "A", according to this link http://www.w5yi.org/page.php?id=281

On Fcc's website, I am still group D.
    Am I missing something here?
    Thank you

2. N1EN

N1EN Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I believe the group indicates which set of call signs yours is drawn from. Group D = generally, 2×3 calls except for some special calls. If you had a 1×2, 2×1, or 2×2 begining with "A" you'd be in Group A.

Now, if you're asking why you didn't get an extra call with your upgrade, the answer is that you didn't check the box on the Form 605 to request a new sequential call. If that's something you're trying to change, there is a way to do that in the FCC's ULS system. I forget the details, but it should boil down to your checking a box, and receiving the next Extra call in the sequence overnight. (The most recent Class A call issued in the 5th call area, as of this writing, was AG5FA. FYI.)

3. KC9UDX

KC9UDX Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

Everything looks perfectly correct to me.

You have all the same codes as do I.

4. KU4X

KU4X Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Both answers above have nailed it. The call sign group shown in an individual's ULS entry is the group that the current active call belongs to, NOT the group that licensee is eligible to draw from.