QSL cards outside of the USA

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KC3RAA, May 3, 2021 at 5:22 PM.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. KC3RAA

KC3RAA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I couldn't find an answer and no idea if it even belongs in this forum, but I was wondering about QSL cards being received from outside of the USA. I know that postage to send from the USA is $1.20 postage, but when the recipient says to include a SASE, will the $1.20 US postage work? Seems it would need to be postage from that country

I'm pretty new at this and would like to get the cards from at least my first few DX contacts (at least from those that actually do the cards)

2. AD5HR

AD5HR Ham Member QRZ Page

U.S. postage is only good in the U.S. and its territories.
    Most foreign postal rates are more expensive than ours.
    International mail is very erratic post Covid, but before
    this, I included $3.00 with an S.A.E.
    First check with USPS to see if mail is suspended in the
    countries you wish to send to, or your card will come back
    stamped "unable to deliver". ($1.20 wasted)
    GL es DX

N1EN likes this.
  3. W3WN

W3WN Ham Member QRZ Page

Bill,

The short answer is "usually, not quite." Postage costs can vary, even after currency conversions.

Also, some DX stations use a volunteer US "QSL Manager" to handle their cards for them. Others use ClubLog, which (if they're configured for it) will let you cover postage costs electronically (usually via PayPal). There are additional alternatives, too many to go into right now.

Basically, you can expect to include anywhere from US $2 to $3 per request to cover their postage. Some will be more.