ad: wmr-1

QRPGuys.com Kits are Fantastic

Discussion in 'QRP Corner' started by KN3O, May 8, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. KN3O

KN3O Ham Member QRZ Page

Last night I came home from work to find my kits from QRP Guys has arrived. I ordered the 12W Dummy Load and the End Fed Half Wave Tuner. Both arrived in a small padded mailer, with each kit in it's own ziplock baggie. Time from order to they shipped was a little long, about a week, but I ordered on a Thursday and they normally seem to ship on Wednesday according to the website. Just keep that in mind.

The first kit I put together was the dummy load. The instructions were simple and the kit even simpler. I had it finished in about 10 minutes. The silkscreen was well done and easy to follow. The only "tricky" part (read complete absolute beginner might mess up) is making sure you get the polarity of the diode correct. Even the BNC soldered easier than expected. Using a simple voltmeter you can get power out with some very simple math.

Next to build was the EFHW tuner, which I bought to replace my Dentron Monitor Junior as my SOTA tuner. This kit is slightly more detailed, but still not difficult. The board, instructions, and construction was as well done as the prior kits. Obviously the most difficult part of the kit to assemble are the two toroids. I have wound toroids before but the "tap" they have you include is a new technique to me. I had to rewind one of mine as I broke the magnet wire while twisting the tap. But the kit went together well and now just needs to be tested before it gets taken into the field. For those who have built or used the Hendricks QRP tuner sold by Pacific Antenna, this is the same circuit without the enclosure, and includes the SWR indicating LED.