QRP set-up for a newbie

Discussion in 'QRP Corner' started by 4G1AOC, Jul 23, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. 4G1AOC

4G1AOC Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi guys, I am new to the HF band . I plan to do a HF set up . I am leaning to having a QRP set up with a Yaesu 817 which I can get on a sweet deal. I was wonder what else do I need to make a set-up . Primarily for field setup and emergency comma for our local Red Cross chapter.

2. W6OGC

W6OGC Ham Member QRZ Page

Good antenna(s) for the bands of interest.

Some sort of emergency power. A clean power supply for commercial power. Spare fuses. Spare microphone, key, etc. external speaker and headset with spares. Patch cables between radio, SWR/watt meters.

Some sort of organization scheme so that everything is with you when you go out. It is bad for morale when you get all set up somewhere and realize the little adapter plug essential to your set up is in a drawer back home, or a patch cable, etc.

Whatever "office supplies" you need, paper, pens penciles, computer. TP.

3. VK3YE

VK3YE Ham Member QRZ Page

Key items apart from the FT-817 and a good battery (better than supplied) include an L-match antenna coupler and telescoping pole (30 ft preferred but can get by with 15 ft).

A few hints and tips on HF portable operating at http://home.alphalink.com.au/~parkerp/gateway/nofeb97.htm

Couplers at http://home.alphalink.com.au/~parkerp/projects/projcoupler.htm

Antenna supports at http://home.alphalink.com.au/~parkerp/projects/projmast.htm

Other antenna ideas at http://home.alphalink.com.au/~parkerp/projant.htm

Information on what's possible on various bands http://home.alphalink.com.au/~parkerp/qrp.htm

KB2SMS likes this.
  4. KM4DYX

KM4DYX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I run an FT817ND exclusively. Everything is geared toward portable operation. Take a look at my QRZ page. Here goes the list:

PELICAN 1200 case contents:
    FT817