Purchased a BaoFang F8HP

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by OLDS64, Mar 8, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. OLDS64

OLDS64 QRZ Member

Hello, my name is Jesse. I just passed my Technician and General license tests on 3/2/19. Unfortunately, the FCC hasn't given me my callsign yet and I haven't been added to the online FCC database.

Professionally, I am a FAA radar technician. So all things electronic are at least familiar to me. I haven't been exposed to HAM radio since I was a teenager though. My granddad; K0LXA, had a HF radio and I remember helping my dad and granddad install a directional antenna and rotator on grandad's house in KCMO.

I downloaded Chirp on my home computer to program my BaoFang radio. I planned to watch Hoshnasi's video on YouTube to program it. I recall reading something about the F8HPs that they come from the factory with features that could get you in trouble if not turned off. I @$$ume Hoshnasi covers this in his video but I haven't watched it yet. I'm itching to get that FCC email. :D

Long term I hope to buy a HF radio to install in my truck. I've read about the Yaesu 857D and my neighbor (who is also a HAM) talked to me about screwdriver antennas. For now I'll start small though. Any comments or help are welcome.

2. W4EAE

W4EAE Subscriber QRZ Page

Congratulations on your general! A piece of advise, wait a couple of weeks and then go ahead and start studying for your Extra. It will be easier while you all ready have the Tech and General stuff fresh in your head.

With an FM radio like the F8HP, programming should not be difficult at all with your background combined with what you had to learn for your license tests.