Promoting ham radio in scouts

Discussion in 'Youth Forum' started by W2PSK, Dec 10, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. W2PSK

W2PSK XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I hope it's ok to post this here. If it's some sort of rules violation, I apologize. I don't post in these forums too often so I may have missed the rules. I have set up a GoFundMe page to try to raise funds to purchase amateur radio equipment for the local Boy Scout troop and I wanted to present it here for anyone that may wish to help us out. The page is here: https://www.gofundme.com/ham-radio-equipment-for-troop-83-2w65qz4r and this is the content of the page:

I am the scoutmaster for Boy Scout troop 83 in South River, NJ. I am also an Amateur Radio Operator (W2PSK). I want to bring the world of amateur radio to my scouts. To do that, we need a portable radio, antenna and associated accessories. I don't have the money to personally purchase these items and the troop doesn't have the extra money to spend on it.

I would like to purchase modest equipment that can be used to get us on the air from our campsites. This includes a YouKits TJ2B portable HF SSB radio: https://youkits.com/products/youkits-tj2b-2015-hf-ssb-cw-handheld-transceiver as well as two dipole antennas for 20 meters and 40 meters. I will also need to purchase coaxial cable for the antennas and possibly a second rechargable battery pack.

Amateur radio is an integral part of the BSA experience. There is a yearly event for the BSA and amateur radio called the Jamboree on the Air (JOTA) in which scouts from around the world take to the airwaves to learn about radios and talk to other scouts. There's a radio merit badge as well as an amateur radio patch you can wear on your uniform if you are a licensed operator. Adult leaders can even earn the "Amateur Radio Service to Scouting Award".