ad: ProAudio-1

Product Review: Bluetooth Baofeng Programmer.

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by K4RZM, Jun 20, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. K4RZM

K4RZM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

sm_Baofeng Bluetooth Programmer.png

It took a bit to get this little gadget to work, but once I found workarounds for the glitches I was able to clone one Baofeng to another in about a minute.
    The main glitch was that the app would crash if it does not see both a TX and RX frequency. I had some weather channels on the unit I was cloning, that did not have TX frequencies, which caused the app to fail. Once I stuck 146.52 into the TX fields it worked like a charm.
    This programmer sells on Amazon for about $13 and is made by TidRadio.

I'm pretty new to the whole Ham/YouTube world, so any comments or criticism is welcome.

M1WML, K3RW, GETOFFMYLAWN and 2 others like this.
  2. KK9W

KK9W Ham Member QRZ Page

$13? That's more than the radio is worth!:cool: I kid, but the capability is neat! Would be nice to be able to do with some of my mobiles and hand helds. Good job.

M1WML, GETOFFMYLAWN and K4RZM like this.
  3. GETOFFMYLAWN

GETOFFMYLAWN QRZ Member

Is this basically a bluetooth to serial adapater and a repackaged version of Chirp?

M1WML likes this.
  4. K4RZM

Yes its basically a Bluetooth Serial Adapter, and No, its nothing like Chirp.
    The apps programming interface is not awesome.
    I had already programmed the Baofengs with Chirp, then used this device to clone the channels and settings to a freshly factory reset Baofeng.

W0OLL, M1WML and GETOFFMYLAWN like this.
  5. N1IPU

N1IPU Ham Member QRZ Page

Sometimes we go down paths that make no sense at all.

M1WML, W7XLR and K9GLS like this.
  6. N8HCS

N8HCS Ham Member QRZ Page

I cant find this thing on amazon

M1WML likes this.
  7. K4RZM