Problem modeling EFHW + autotransformer

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by K5DJO, Oct 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. K5DJO

K5DJO Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi,

I'm building an antenna similar to the HyEndFed/LNR commercial offerings, based on the wonderful posts by PD7MAA here and others. I'm wanting to experiment with different inductor designs, as well as wire lengths, so I'm trying to build an EZNEC model. Unfortunately, what I've gotten so far isn't correct based on the feed point impedance EZNEC is calculating. I've tried adjusting wire lengths slightly, to mimic the trimming I had to do with the 'real world' model, but that didn't seem to help. I'm certain I'm doing something incorrectly here (I'm new to EZNEC as well as amateur radio/antenna theory/etc).

I'm linking to my model, and would very much appreciate it if someone could look at it and tell me what I'm doing wrong. I've been using the help document that comes with the software, but this one has me stumped.

EZNEC endfed 1/2 wave attempt

Thank you in advance.

2. KH6AQ

KH6AQ Ham Member QRZ Page

I wasn't able to open the file and it's probably something I'm doing wrong. Can you describe the antenna in more detail?

If you're feeding the wire at one end it won't work. In EZNEC and in the real world there isn't a true end fed antenna. "End-fed" antennas are actually dipoles and in the case of the HyEndFed/LNR the coax shield is the other half. To model such an antenna a 1/4 wavelength wire needs to be placed on one side of the RF source.

3. W6OGC

W6OGC Ham Member QRZ Page

Look at AA5TB's website http://www.aa5tb.com/efha.html. Steve has some explanations of what he thinks is going on and some modeling results, and how he did it.

I believe I understand you have to "fool" EZNEC on this.

4. K5DJO