Preventing SDR overload

Discussion in 'Software Defined Radio (SDR)' started by K3RW, Nov 25, 2020.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. K3RW

K3RW Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I'm new to SDR so be kind :)

I've read that SDRs overload easily, though I have not yet experienced that and I am not quite sure how it might manifest (IMD, RFI, de-sense, etc.). But I wanted to know if there are any techniques or tricks to prevent that. In the future, our contest shack we will have SDRs running basically everything on transverters.

Some things come to mind: better shielding, ferrites, etc. I don't know other than perhaps a bandpass filter if there are any other things to look at.

2. WL7PM

WL7PM Ham Member QRZ Page

Hang wet laundry over your antenna for sufficient attenuation.
    I saw this technique used in Belize, very cost effective: this way you don't waste the atenuated power, nor do you waste valuable electricity drying clothes.

2E0CIT likes this.
  3. N6YWU

N6YWU Ham Member QRZ Page

Direct sampling or IQ mixer SDR?

The dynamic range of direct sampling SDR receivers is limited by the sampling bit depth of the ADC (commonly in the range of 8 to 16 bits, depending on the SDR radio design) across the entire bandwidth of the device (and also to some degree the ADC sample rate). A strong signal anywhere in the receiver bandwidth can either overload that ADC range, or cause an AGC to turn the gain down to where your signals of interest disappear well below the LSB of the ADC. So input blocking filters on the frequencies of any nearby transmitters or other strong RF sources will help, as will single-band band-pass filters for the band in use. Some SDRs have one of more of those filter systems built-in. Other SDRs require one to insert external filtering in the signal feeds.