Prejudices against keyboard CW?

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by AB2T, Oct 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: L-Geochron
  1. AB2T

AB2T Ham Member QRZ Page

I have bad fine motor, especially in the hands. I can send with paddles for a few contacts, and then my sending hand locks. I've tried using a hand brace, but it's rather awkward to use. A keyboard is much easier on my hands. Also, I can send above 18 to 20 wpm with the keyboard.

I've heard that some CW operators refuse to work stations that send CW by keyboard. I use the wet gray noodles between my ears to decode CW. Computer decoders are just bunk that send out ascii garbage. Besides, I've very little experience with them. I trust my ears much better. However, lots of hams are convinced that computerized signal is the sign of a dishonest operator who is using a decoder. That's a one way ticket to lid-dom.

Is it true that I will be avoided because my fist is "too perfect"? I love having a new key, but I just can't get above 20 wpm with the paddles. I'd rather keep the glass wrist in check.

I love CW. I wouldn't want to give it up simply because other ops would consider me a lid.

73, Jordan

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

If you type well and send good code, how in the world could anyone possibly know you're using a keyboard?

When I send with a keyer and paddles, many (many!) ops have said, "Nice keyboard code," and I don't use a keyboard. Just well sent code. Who cares?

3. AB2T

AB2T Ham Member QRZ Page

Very right. Why should I care? Insecurity is no excuse to not try something.

It's great that you can send code so well that people think you are using a keyboard! The biggest problem for me is that as my hand and wrist tire, it's hard for me to control the dits well. This is why I prefer to use the keyboard.