Power Supply search

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KA8WRL, Oct 12, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: l-assoc
  1. KA8WRL

KA8WRL Ham Member QRZ Page

I just purchased a new Icom IC-7200, and the Icom PS-126 is no longer sold.

What power supply would be best?

I am setting up my ham shack with the 7200 and only using 110V.

I at first was looking at Samlex, but now do not know which company and power supply would be best for my use.

Any suggestions would be great.

2. WB0MPB

WB0MPB Subscriber QRZ Page

Well what I use is going to really make me take some incoming heat by the China and inexpensive haters but here goes. I have 2 of these power supplies.
    One has run a Yaesu FT-450D and the other a DM-100 for 3 and 4 years. So I have 4 years experience with 2 of them and they work great.

So let's not turn this thread into a bashing my switching power supply thread. It is not about me it is about giving ideas to @KA8WRL.

so anyway that is what I use.

John, WB0MPB

K2CQW and W9KEY like this.
  3. KE8FWJ

KE8FWJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Go American, go linear, go Astron. Locally designed & assembled. Local support and zero RFI emissions.

Linear is also so simple you could assemble your own PSU with zero RFI and ripple no more than 50mV and a rockhard 13.8VDC output :) And have fun building it and the satisfaction knowing you've homebrewed it yourself.

Have fun, have fun, have fun.

KK5JY and N2EY like this.
  4. K8JD

K8JD Ham Member QRZ Page

Find the power needed (amp rating) on transmit in the specs, get a good linear supply with 2 X this rating.
    I like Astron supplies, pretty reliable and not expensive.

N2EY likes this.
  5. K8AI

K8AI Ham Member QRZ Page

Go switch-mode. I've been running a HP Proliant 460W server power supply (with my own enhancements) for a year on HF with zero problems/noise. I got mine free but you can get them for $10-$20 on ebay.