ad: M2Ant-1

Power supply for RV operation

Discussion in 'On the Road' started by K7GDR, Jun 30, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-Geochron
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. K7GDR

K7GDR Ham Member QRZ Page

I have a Yaesu FT-891 that I intend to use when on the road in my 40-foot Class A motorhome. My antenna is a Buddipole. I also have a Powerwerx 30 amp power supply that I use with my home base station.

I will eventually acquire batteries to use with my 891 so that my operation can be more portable. For now, however, I'd like to use my Powerwerx 30 amp power supply to power my 891 when using the RV. The Powerwerx would be plugged into an exterior outlet on the RV, and my 891 would be set up on a table outside. We will have 50 amp service at the campsite.

Is this doable? Are there other considerations of which I should be aware? I have no desire to hard-wire anything to the RV batteries. I am a new operator and am still learning. Thank you for your time.

KO4ESA and YC8FMN like this.
  2. WA2EIO

WA2EIO XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Should be no problem. Your 50 Amp service I assume is for 120VAC to supply the motor home on location. Remember that your power supply is rated for 30 Amps but this is at 12-13.8 VDC. Looking at its specs on the PowerWerx site show that it has a 6.3 Amp input fuse, so that means that the MOST is would be able to draw from your 50A service is 6.3 Amps. You will still have around 42 Amps to run the motor home.

KU3X, KO4ESA and K0UO like this.
  3. KB3WFV

KB3WFV Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hi K7GDR,

Set it up and have fun working some stations from the camp grond. The 50amp service is plenty of power for the mptor-home and the the power supply. Everything as you describe should work fine.

Have Fun!
    Brian
    KB3WFV

KO4ESA likes this.
  4. K7GDR

K7GDR Ham Member QRZ Page