POTA specific logging program - PyLogJam

Discussion in 'Logbooks & Logging Programs' started by KE4ET, Feb 17, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: QSOToday-1
  1. KE4ET

KE4ET XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello everyone,

I've been writing a logging program specifically for POTA activations. It is called PyLogJam, and is released under the GPL license. The current version is 0.3. I have not previously made a real announcement of the project. It has been in the works for a while now, and I have used it myself on 37 activations to date.

The program is written in Python so it should be runnable on most anything. You'll just have to have Python installed. I'm a Software Engineer and writing this program gave me a chance to play with Python on a small program. Usually I have worked on large systems with thousands of source files and decade(s) of development effort.

On some OS's Python is natively installed. I've been running PyLogJam on Linux laptops as that is what I have, but Linux is not required.

PyLogJam produces an ADIF file with the current naming convention for POTA log submittal. The files are ready to upload to your POTA coordinator, and to LoTW via tQSL, etc. Thanks to the POTA people for assisting in testing!

The program is very minimalistic. If you want lots of fields and lots of options, this is not the program you are looking for!

However if you want to run pileups very quickly without having to think about your logger, as fast as you can type the callsigns, this just might be what you are looking for. The interface is intuitive and should require almost no learning curve. A few minutes getting familiar with it is all you need to be ready to run pileups. There are no configurable options.

It only does one thing - POTA.

Though the version is currently 0.3, it is more mature than most 1.0 versions of software. There have been only a few minor changes in the last several months of usage.