Portable 2 meter antenna?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KV4JW, Sep 27, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KV4JW

KV4JW Ham Member QRZ Page

I'd like to make a 2 meter antenna for my HT that I can use to extend my operational range. I understand I can just power up to 5 watts and cross my fingers with the rubber duck antenna, but that creates a lot of heat, sucks a battery down pretty fast, and puts more RF than I care to have within inches of my forehead.

For walking around and moving, the rubber duck may be best - but sometimes I'm just a lazy recliner operator and being able to clip an antenna to the curtain and kick back with the HT in my lap would be great.

I know MFJ makes a "pocket 2 meter roll up" antenna that appears to be nothing more than a length of coax with a BNC on the end of it - $30 is a little rich though. Radiowavz also makes one at DOUBLE that price. For $60, it better make toast and coffee.

I have a VHF SWR meter, and I'm handy with soldering, so I really feel like I could make something comparable for substantially less money.

Can you guys point me to any DIY articles, or perhaps offer insight/tips on how I could do something like this for myself? If it works out good, I'll probably make a couple more for my local ham friends with HT's.

2. W0KDT

W0KDT XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Roll-up J pole with suction cup to attach top to window glass works well for me.

KV4JW likes this.
  3. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page