ad: hrd-2

Please explain differences in SDR software

Discussion in 'Software Defined Radio (SDR)' started by KX5ALC, Oct 7, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-Geochron
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KX5ALC

KX5ALC Ham Member QRZ Page

Just got a used RSP2. It will soon be time to download the software. When I went to their site, I found there were 4 under the title of SDR Software and 8 more under Other Software. I'm really a newbie here with all this stuff. I've seen the waterfall screens on YouTube videos, but that's about all I know about it. Why are there so many different software programs available to run one piece of equipment? How do they differ? Do they have different screens or do they all look the same? Completely confused here is putting it lightly!!!!! :confused::rolleyes:;)

Any comments and insight will be much appreciated.

KX4O likes this.
  2. AG5CK

AG5CK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

The programs were designed by different people, so they will look different and have different features. The best answer I can give you is to try a few and use the one you like best. I bounce back and forth between SDR Console V3 and SDR Sharp. I like that I can mute SDR Sharp with the space bar when I key the transmitter but sometimes it's buggy. SDR Console has an auto mute feature but when band conditions are good it can be problematic. When it's set high enough not to clip stronger signals it will not mute when I transmit. I didn't care for SDRuno that the SDRplay folks recommend. It works but feels awkward to me.

KX4O and KX5ALC like this.
  3. KV6O

KV6O Ham Member QRZ Page

There are lots of email clients, Ham logbook programs, etc. They all do the same thing too, but with differences. They have different look and feels about them, different performance levels, different options available.

Try a few out and see what you like!

KX5ALC likes this.
  4. KX5ALC