ad: cq2k-1

Planning and Operating a Special Events Station - 2014

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by WB4AEJ, Jul 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. WB4AEJ

WB4AEJ Ham Member QRZ Page

In May of 2010, I wrote a QRZ article about Planning and Operating a Special Events Station (SES). A lot of time has gone by and I have some more experience I wish to share. And I received additional suggestions from amateurs who read the previous article. So consider this a rewrite of the previous article. I apologize in advance if parts of it seem like they are from the previous article. – Fred, WB4AEJ

Special Events Stations are a means to add more excitement to the pursuit of amateur radio operation. They are educational and can be a lot of fun. Some of the ‘old timers’ frown on it and say that chasing QSL cards is not what amateur radio is all about. They try to put down those who focus on chasing QSL cards. I am an ‘old timer’ as a twenty word per minute Extra class operator with nearly forty years in amateur radio. And I say shame on them.

While I agree that chasing QSL cards is not what amateur radio is *all* about, I believe that chasing those cards gains radio experience that results in better operators. This is better for the amateur radio service as a whole. Once one gains that operating experience, the sky is the limit.

When asked why your club hasn’t sponsored any Special Events Stations, the answer you will often get is ‘We don’t know how to do it!’. I am here to resolve that issue for you.

Choose a significant event so it can draw interest. If you choose to do an event that is insignificant to most, it will not get much attention. And your efforts will not yield much in the way of results.