ad: hrd-2

P25 repeaters

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KN4EHX, Oct 26, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. KN4EHX

KN4EHX Ham Member QRZ Page

Hey everyone,

Thanks for stopping! I’m on a quest to buy or build a p25 repeater. Besides Motorola Quantar repeaters what are my options? I’d like something that can be programmed with a modern PC because I personally don’t have any DOS computers, but it is possible through my friends.

The Quantar repeaters are usually very expensive and being my first repeater I’d like to keep cost down if I can. It must be UHF since all VHF pairs are taken in my area.

Before anyone roast me over frugality I’d like to add I’m a graduate student and I work full time so investing in a top of the repeater will be a work in progress. With that said I’d like to get something up and running in the meantime. Maybe this will become my backup in the future. So play nice!

Besides Motorola Quantar what are my options? I’m aware many other manufacturers made P25 equipment so they can’t be the only ones out there. EF Johnson, Icom, Kenwood, Tait? I can’t seem to find much information on what to look for or model numbers.

I have flirted with the ideal of using a MMDVM with two analog radios, but I lack experience in that realm. The added benefit would be the ability to use other modes in addition to P25 so if anyone is well versed in that subject I’m all ears.

I’d like to think there is a way to use two Astro Spectra radios to create a repeater, but that is likely wishful thinking. The reason for wanting to do that is the power output on the high power models is around 100 watts. A couple other Motorola models as well like the MCS 2000.