Over the road ham operators truck drives

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio' started by K9QCA, Mar 11, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: FBNews-1
  1. K9QCA

K9QCA Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi! I was just curious to know if there is any truck driver ham operators that do OTR ? If so I have a few questions concerning about my HF rig that I use in my day cab. Thanks 73 from kd9cdx

2. N1RND

N1RND Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi
    Although not an expert, I can try and help.
    I got out over the road along time ago. I'm a bulk tanker driver doing local work.
    I've played with cb/10m rigs in the company trucks, HF in my p/u and have an HF station at home.
    So shoot.

3. AA9G

AA9G Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

4. WC5B

WC5B Ham Member QRZ Page

There are many many of us out and about. Drop a question and we will see what we can do. You would be surprised how many of us there are. Don't be scared to ask us around the truck stops either.

KC5JSR likes this.
  5. KD0EAH

KD0EAH Ham Member QRZ Page

Tag to follow.

6. PD0BJ

PD0BJ Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm a trucker from The Netherlands, Europe. I usually operate from Netherlands, Belgium, Luxemburg while driving or static. But even while driving I made contacts with Siberia, India, Indonesia, Brasil, US and Europe. With good reports. My equipment is a Yaesu 857 connected to an ATAS 120. It's the ultimate combination to me. When I had issues with my equipment I never hesitated to ask for help. And there were always helpful fellow OP's. I have my fridge next to my seat. On top a rubber mat with a writingpad to write down the details. I never start a QSO when in heavy traffic or in a town. Always on the freeway/highway when traffic is quiet. Always keep my distance and eyes on the road and let the traffic prevail. I use the QRZ app to check the callsigns and details. Afterwards I can work out the details (logbook and such).
    Hope this is some help for you. 73!

7. KW4AK