Out of band for fire/ems/whatever.

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KC7YRA, Feb 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: FBNews-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. KC7YRA

KC7YRA Ham Member Volunteer Moderator QRZ Page

So today I sat down and read the 6,000th post about modding radios for out of band use. We have all heard the same excuses "Im a firefighter/emt" "I dont want to carry 2 radios" "in an emergency when there is no other way" BLAH BLAH BLAH.

So I am compelled to write a little blurb for the folks who CONSTANTLY ask this. I wont mention (other than now) that modding a ham transceiver for out of band use other than MARS/CAP is ILLEGAL and should not be done. But over the years I have found a very cheap and extremely effective solution.

You see, I am a firefighter/paramedic who is also a ham. Typically I carried 2 radios around and toyed with the using of illegal equipment until I came upon a discovery.

Ebay item # 330209470972

That link will take you to the prc-127 handheld on Ebay. I own several and they will cover the 136.000 to APROX 160.000 MHZ. They will do whatever offset you want as well as whatever ctcss you could want. AND THE BEST PART!!!!! They are field programmable and can legally cover the VHF business band. plus they typically go for FAR less that an monoband handheld (under $100)

Brad

SO now that I have posted this I can assume that nobody will EVER ask about out of band use on business frequencies?

Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
  2. KD8HMO

KD8HMO Banned QRZ Page

Here is what Repeater-Builder.com has to say about this..

http://www.repeater-builder.com/bendix-king/bk-prc127-upband.html

Upgrading the PRC-127 for Fire Service