Okay, I'm nuts -- thinking of learning Morse code now that I'm retired

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by KC5RR, Oct 1, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
  1. KC5RR

KC5RR Subscriber QRZ Page

Has anyone used, or know of a 'quick learn' method called Code Quick?

N7BKV and W9RAC like this.
  2. KA2CZU

KA2CZU XML Subscriber QRZ Page

1. you are not nuts
    2. you can learn Morse code through a variety of methods
    3. To your question: no, I haven't. But slow and steady wins the game, in the learning process.

KC5RR likes this.
  3. AG6QR

AG6QR Subscriber QRZ Page

You're not nuts. Maybe the best time to learn Morse was decades ago, but the second best time to learn is right now!

I haven't heard of that particular method, but I know many who have learned the code in or near retirement years. I started learning it in my mid-fifties. Computer aided methods using some variation on Farnsworth spacing and Koch method seem to work well for most.

Fifteen minutes per day, every day, will do the trick fairly quickly. Hours of study once a week won't work nearly as well.

KC5RR and KE0TNL like this.
  4. KE0TNL

KE0TNL Ham Member QRZ Page

I don't think you're nuts, I'm 39 and just started teaching myself code like a elementary student learning how to read and write again. I spend 15 minutes everyday either listening to code or practicing with my straight key.

I have not heard of the 'quick learn' method called Code Quick but there are so many different methods out there now.

I truly believe that no one should ever stop learning no matter what place in life they are in. From one Army vet/VFW life member to another I hope to hear you out there.

Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
    KC5RR likes this.
  5. KF4MOT

KF4MOT Ham Member QRZ Page

I used Code Quick 20ish years ago.
    It's advantage is that it makes it very easy to get up to 5 wpm or so.