ad: ProAudio-1

Off-grid digital voice repeater?

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by KF4NCN, Jun 14, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KF4NCN

KF4NCN XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hey everyone, I work mostly hf and I am new to the digital voice modes like DMR, D-Star, etc. I was wondering if it is possible to create a temporary field day vhf repeater that uses a digital voice mode, without having an active internet connection to the repeater? This is intended to run local digital mode traffic for a few people, not dx'ing or general public use. If so, which digital mode would work best? I have not gotten any clear info from the online research I have done. Thanks.

2. K7JEM

K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page

Sure. The internet connection is the least of your concerns when trying to set up a temporary VHF repeater.

But, if temporary, and no internet connection, why go digital at all? Plenty of FM radios out there.

3. KF4NCN

Sure a regular repeater would be easier, but where is the fun in that. The main reason for this is just to see if can. lol I am always trying to find new and unconventional methods of ham radio.

4. K7JEM

K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page

Have you ever put up a VHF repeater? What are you trying to accomplish with this, other than see if it can be done?

5. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Even for analog VHF FM, portable repeaters have been rather rare over the years considering the bulk and power requirements.

Can it be done? Sure. All it takes is money and something to haul around the gear.

6. KB0MNM

KB0MNM Ham Member QRZ Page