Newbie Confused

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by N7ZSD, May 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. N7ZSD

N7ZSD Ham Member QRZ Page

I admit it, I'm a newbie to HF. Just passed the code after 11 years of Technicianism.(I'm just lazy, code is cake at 5-10 wpm). I have a couple of questions. Who is W6ADO and what the #%$&# is he doing on 7.100? Is he there 24/7? Is this code practice? Is this a beacon station, or is it some form of "broadcasting"? (judging by the content of some of the text I'm not so sure it isn't). Does his house look like one really big heat sink? Am I just being stupid? You can tell me, I won't be offended.  
    To be honest, I'm not all that impressed with HF...yet. Taking the General written next week, but so far, in less than a month, I have heard some of the rudest behavior, seen naked girlie pics, and I even found out that you can buy a particular radio frequency from the FCC. If you don't believe me, email me. I'll give you the call signs of a couple of guys that sure think they own 'em! Oh, the uncertainty of it all! Don't mind me,it's late, and I'm getting punchy....

2. kc0ebm

kc0ebm Banned QRZ Page

If I'm not mistaken, I think the guy on 7.100 is sending Biblical text continuously. If that's the one, we were just discussing the legality of it. If its code practice, its legal.

Anyway, welcome to HF. Sorry you are somewhat disappointed, but we are in the process of fixing that. We've admittedly been a little lax on enforcement, but that's not the case now. It will take some time, but most of the abuses you hear now will be gone soon. Just be patient.

Better yet, take some time to bone up on the rules. Rules mean things. And we enforce 'em.

If you're looking for somebody to practice code with you, put out the word here on this board. You will be glad you did.