ad: Ham.Live-1

newB needs some sat help

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by N2JFD, Sep 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: l-BCInc
  1. N2JFD

N2JFD Ham Member QRZ Page

ok, i am new to sats, i have made 2 contacts on AO-27 but thats all i can hear for some reason and latley not even that. i have not been able to hear so-50 (nor find an operating schedule for it) and AO-51. i am using a kenwood th-f6 into an arrow antenna with a duplexer (came with arrow antenna) the antenna is built correctly (hence my 2 AO-27 contacts) but i am also not able to hear the ISS (and i have confirmation from a station not to far from me that they were on) i know the list of problems can be long so let me start disqualifing some. i am using 2 different tracking programs so both say the pass is at the specified time. i have confirmed north and i am aiming in the correct direction. i am trying to do this from the 3rd floor of my firehouse. there is some metal furniture and siding around (not sure if this is going to affect it) also there is a radio tower (for the FD) less that 1/2 mile away. i am able to connect to local repeaters on both 2 meters and 440. so i think the duplexer is working. let me also say i made both AO-27 contacts from a different location (my home) and that is over 70 miles away. can my location really be stopping me from receiving any signals at all? any and all help would be appreciated.

jim N2JFD

2. N9SOX

N9SOX Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi Jim-

Make sure you keep your squelch wide open when listening for the Birds. If you have your squelch turned up it's not likely your going to receive anything as the downlink from the Bird is not likely to break the squelch if you have it turned up. I'm not familiar with your Radio so I cannot provide much help there.

This may be one reason. I'm sure others will chime in with tips and ideas.